BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Dave North to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Dave North

Dave North, executive chairman of Sedgwick Claims Management Services Inc., will receive the 2024 Business Insurance Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding accomplishments in the claims, insurance and risk management sector.

He will accept the award during the Business Insurance U.S. Insurance Awards on July 18 in New York.

Mr. North began his career in the insurance industry in 1978 as a fire protection engineer at Atlantic Mutual Insurance Co., after serving as a volunteer firefighter in Detroit and in the U.S. Air Force.

After working at various other claims and risk consulting companies, he joined Sedgwick as president and CEO in 1995 and was named executive chairman in 2020. During his time at Sedgwick, where he led it through numerous acquisitions, the company grew from the 8th-largest third-party claims administrator with $70 million in gross revenue and 5,000 staff in 1995 to the world’s largest TPA with more than $4 billion in revenue and more than 30,000 staff.

Last month, Sedgwick announced Mr. North would retire on June 30 but remain on its board of directors.

The Business Insurance Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the risk management sector over the course of their careers. Recipients are selected by the editorial staff.

All the honorees are entered into the Business Insurance Hall of Fame. Past recipients include: 2023, Alan Jay Kaufman, chairman president and CEO of H.W. Kaufman Group; 2022, J. Patrick Gallagher, chairman, president and CEO of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.; 2021, Brian Duperreault, retired CEO of American International Group Inc.; 2020, Kevin H. Kelley, retired vice chairman of Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.’s Global Risk Solutions business; 2019, Martin P. Hughes, executive chairman of Hub International Ltd.; 2018, Maurice R. Greenberg, chairman and CEO of C.V. Starr & Co. Inc.; and 2017, Patrick G. Ryan, chairman and CEO of Ryan Specialty Holdings Inc.

For more information on the award and the event, click here.