BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Business Insurance announces winners of 2024 Break Out Awards


Business Insurance on Wednesday announced the 40 winners of its 2024 Break Out Awards.

The awards program recognizes the next generation of insurance industry leaders. Nominations are open to anyone working in the commercial insurance and risk management sector who has no more than 15 years’ experience in the industry.

The 40 winners are divided into four regions of the United States. The 2024 winners are:


Evan Bahs, Acrisure LLC

Monika Fokaite, Everest Insurance, a division of Everest Group Ltd.

Reed Kurtenbach, SageSure Insurance Managers LLC

Matt Lively, Axa XL, a unit of Axa SA

Stephanie Miles, McGriff, a unit of Truist Insurance Holdings Inc.

Emily Moran, Chubb Ltd.

Tom Mullins, RT Specialty, a unit of Ryan Specialty Holdings Inc.

Megan Nelson, Gallagher Bassett Services Inc., a unit of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

Kendall Petykiewicz, Marsh LLC

Brian Stovsky, Oswald Cos.


Bethany Barrese, Saxe Doernberger & Vita P.C.

Nick DelVino, Amwins Group Inc.

Ansu Diggs, Everest Insurance, a division of Everest Group Ltd.

Ryan Gibney, Lockton Cos. LLC

Sebastian Hennessy, Marsh LLC

Samuel Kim, Axa XL, a unit of Axa SA

Orrie Levy, Cohen Ziffer Frenchman & McKenna LLP

Matthew Reiss, Ascot Group Ltd.

Alyssa Sharr, Zurich North America

Pranav Shroff, TDC Specialty Underwriters Inc., a unit of The Doctors Co.


Troy Calfee, Chronos Underwriters, AmRisc Group, a unit of Truist Insurance Holdings Inc.

Brendon De Souza, Sanderson Firm PLLC

Daniel Filbey, Brown & Riding Insurance Services Inc.

Rachel Hudgins, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLC

Susan Jock, Marsh McLennan Agency, a unit of Marsh LLC

Shermaine Liggions, Bank of America Corp.

Ariane Livaudais, Alliant Insurance Services Inc.

Aaron Reissner, Technical Risk Underwriters, a unit of Ryan Specialty Holdings Inc.

Colorado Robertson, Mississippi State University

Samantha Ware, United Educators Insurance


Megan Bennett, International Catastrophe Insurance Managers LLC, a unit of Victor Insurance Managers LLC

Shantelle Cabir, Newfront Insurance

Heather Habes, Covington & Burling LLP

Jim Heintz, Zurich North America

Blake Hollman, Leavitt Group

Randal Maestas, The Wonderful Co. LLC

Andrew Mahoney, CCIG

Lindsay Moore, Amwins Group Inc.

Ariana Richter, Munich Re Specialty Insurance, a unit of Munich Reinsurance Co.

Chelsie Tysdal, Burns & Wilcox Ltd.

The winners will be recognized at events in Chicago and New York in June and profiled in the June issue of Business Insurance.