BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Alan Jay Kaufman to receive Lifetime Achievement Award


Alan Jay Kaufman, chairman president and CEO of H.W. Kaufman Group, will be the recipient of the 2023 Business Insurance Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding accomplishments in the insurance and risk management sector.

He will receive the award during the Business Insurance U.S. Insurance Awards on July 19 in New York.

H.W. Kaufman is the parent of an international group of specialty insurance distribution and underwriting companies and other service providers, including wholesaler and managing general agent Burns & Wilcox. The Farmington Hills, Michigan-based group’s annual premium exceeds $1.7 billion.

Mr. Kaufman, who was named head of the privately held company in 2001, has led a significant expansion of its operations through a combination of acquisitions and organic growth. Burns & Wilcox operates the third-largest managing general agency, according to Business Insurance’s most recent ranking.

Among his philanthropic commitments, Mr. Kaufman endowed a professorship in insurance at the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University.

The Business Insurance Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the insurance and risk management and insurance sector over the course of their careers. Recipients are selected by the editorial staff.

All recipients are entered into the Business Insurance Hall of Fame. Past recipients include: 2022, J. Patrick Gallagher, chairman, president and CEO of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.; 2021, Brian Duperreault, retired CEO of American International Group Inc.; 2020, Kevin H. Kelley, retired vice chairman of Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.’s Global Risk Solutions business; 2019, Martin P. Hughes, executive chairman of Hub International Ltd.; 2018, Maurice R. Greenberg, chairman and CEO of C.V. Starr & Co. Inc.; and 2017, Patrick G. Ryan, chairman and CEO of Ryan Specialty Holdings Inc.

For more information on the award and the event, click here.