BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Pat Gallagher to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

J. Patrick Gallagher

J. Patrick Gallagher Jr., chairman, president and CEO of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., will be the recipient of the 2022 Business Insurance Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding accomplishments in the insurance and risk management sector.

He will receive the award during the Business Insurance U.S. Insurance Awards on Sept. 14 in New York.

2022 marks Mr. Gallagher’s 50th year at Gallagher, after he first joined the family company as an intern in 1972 before going full time two years later. After taking on increasingly senior roles, he was named CEO in 1995, when the company, which listed on the New York Stock Exchange in 1987, was ranked eighth in Business Insurance’s ranking of the world’s largest brokers and reported about $400 million in annual revenue. In the most recent ranking, Gallagher is fourth, and it reported revenue of more than $8 billion in 2021.

Under Mr. Gallagher’s leadership, the company has seen organic expansion and growth through hundreds of acquisitions, including significant growth in its international operations. Last year, he oversaw the purchase of Willis Towers Watson PLC’s reinsurance brokerage operations – Gallagher’s largest deal to date – propelling the company into the world’s top three reinsurance intermediaries.

The Business Insurance Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the insurance and risk management and insurance sector over the course of their careers. Recipients are selected by the editorial staff.

All recipients are entered into the Business Insurance Hall of Fame. Past recipients include: 2021, Brian Duperreault, retired CEO of American International Group Inc.; 2020, Kevin H. Kelley, retired vice chairman of Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.’s Global Risk Solutions business; 2019, Martin P. Hughes, executive chairman of Hub International Ltd.; 2018, Maurice R. Greenberg, chairman and CEO of C.V. Starr & Co. Inc.; and 2017, Patrick G. Ryan, chairman and CEO of Ryan Specialty Group LLC.

For more information on the award and the event, click here.