BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Business Insurance names 2021 Break Out Award winners


Business Insurance on Wednesday announced the 40 winners of its 2021 Break Out Awards.

The awards program recognizes the next generation of insurance industry leaders. Nominations are open to anyone working in the commercial insurance and risk management sector who has no more than 15 years’ experience in the industry.

The 40 winners are divided into four regions of the United States. The 2021 winners are:



Chris Butler, Velocity Risk Underwriters LLC

Gerran Geyser, CNA Financial Corp.

Cody Griffin, Zurich North America

Laura Johnson, Axa XL, a unit of Axa SA

Stacie Kroll, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

Bradley Nebel, BMS Group

Rob Quast, The Kroger Co.

Lacy Rex, Oswald Cos.

Sam Tashima, Aon PLC

David Wald, Aclaimant Inc.



Charlotte Allen, Commonwealth Financial Network

Neuris Chalas, Swiss Re Ltd.

Olivia Derderian, Great American Insurance Co.

Kevin Johnson, Munich Reinsurance America Inc.

Marek Krowka, American International Group Inc.

Kimberly Mann, Marsh LLC

Raymond Mascia Jr., Anderson Kill P.C.

Lian Phua, Axa XL, a unit of Axa SA

Christopher Pizzo, Fox Rothschild LLP

Miranda Rodriguez, Brookfield Asset Management



Emily Beach, Marsh LLC

Edward Brown, Wiley Rein LLP

Renee Bruns, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

Latosha Ellis, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

Felipe Garcia, Alliant Insurance Services Inc.

Daniel Jones, Aon PLC

Kevin McCarthy, IBTX, a unit of Acrisure LLC

William Nichols, Amwins Group Inc.

Karen Salmon, Gallagher Bassett Services Inc.

Robert Webber, Burns & Wilcox Ltd.



Stephanie Bozzuto, Cannabis Connect Insurance Services Inc.

William Cea, Brown & Riding Insurance Services Inc.

Ashley Fong, Carpe Data

Shannon Gundersen, Atlas General Insurance Services, a unit of Risk Placement Services Inc.

Jessica Hanneman, Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC

Brett Richesin, Alliant Insurance Services Inc.

Conor Sweeney, CNA Financial Corp.

Chris Theveny, Crum & Forster Holdings Corp.

Caroline Thompson, Cowbell Cyber Inc.

Amy Torres, CFC Underwriting Ltd.


The winners will recognized at a virtual event on June 24, 2021, and profiled in the June issue of Business Insurance.










Read Next

  • Break Out Awards photo gallery

    Last month, Business Insurance honored its 2018 Break Out Award winners at events in New York, Chicago and Los Angeles. The awards program honors top professionals on track to be the next leaders in the risk management and property/casualty insurance field. Winners from all over the country attended the events with colleagues, family and friends. View our winners in this slideshow.