BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Ryan Specialty names new leadership of underwriting unit


Ryan Specialty Group LLC on Tuesday named Nick Cortezi as chairman and CEO of RSG Underwriting Managers LLC, succeeding Mike Rice, who plans to retire at the end of 2020.

In addition, Matt Nichols was named president of the unit, which is the managing underwriting division of Ryan Specialty Group.

Mr. Cortezi and Mr. Nichols joined Chicago-based Ryan Specialty Group through its merger with All Risks Ltd., which was completed earlier this month. Mr. Cortezi was CEO of the Delray Beach, Florida-based wholesaler and Mr. Nichols was president.

Mr. Rice, who in July announced plans to retire, has been named senior chairman of RSG Underwriting Managers through year-end, Ryan Specialty Group said in a statement.

Meanwhile, R-T Specialty LLC, which is another Ryan Specialty Group unit, named Seth Johnson president of RT Binding Authority effective Jan. 1, 2021. He succeeds Scott H. Smith, who is retiring at year-end.

Mr. Johnson is currently president of RT Specialty - Atlantic. He joined the firm with the acquisition of Atlantic Specialty Lines last year.