Login Register Subscribe
Current Issue


BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Tony Lackey receives Donald M. Stuart Aware at RIMS Canada


The Risk & Insurance Management Society Inc. on Monday said the RIMS Ontario Chapter has presented Tony Lackey, director of risk and insurance services for Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario, with the Donald M. Stuart Award at the 2017 RIMS Canada Conference.

The award has been given annually since 1979 by the RIMS Ontario Chapter to honor Canadians who have made outstanding contributions to the risk management profession, RIMS said in a statement.

“I am truly overwhelmed by being the Donald M. Stuart Award winner this year,” Mr. Lackey said in the statement. “Over my career, I have seen risk management evolve, and am very honored that my efforts in promoting risk management through education and my participation with RIMS has been recognized with such a prestigious award from my peers.”

Mr. Lackey joined Carleton University in 2001 and took over the university’s risk management program, which included developing and implementing its annual enterprise risk assessment and the management of operational risks, as well as its risk financing and business continuity programs. He also serves as co-chairman of the university’s joint occupational health and safety committee. Mr. Lackey also developed the university’s operational risk management manual.

Mr. Lackey became a member of RIMS in 2001 and has held various board positions with the chapter including serving as its president from 2003 to 2007. Mr. Lackey maintains a position on the chapter board and also served as co-chairman of RIMS Canada Conference Program Committee in 2011.

Separately, Deborah Moor, vice president of HIIG Underwriters Agency (Canada) Ltd., was presented with the Fred H. Bossons Award, which each year honors the risk management professional who earns the highest average mark on the three examinations required to attain the Canadian Risk Management designation.