BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Business Insurance reveals 2017 Break Out Awards winners

Break Out Awards

Business Insurance announced the winners of its inaugural Break Out awards on Thursday.

The awards program, which succeeds the 40 Under 40 broker awards, recognizes outstanding performers with up to 15 years’ experience in the insurance and risk management field who are positioned to be the next generation of leaders in the sector.

The 40 winners are divided into four regions of the United States. The 2017 winners are:


Chris Rafferty, Aon Risk Solutions

Tyler LaMantia, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

David Derigiotis, Burns & Wilcox Ltd.

Natalya Harvey, Cooper’s Hawk Winery and Restaurants

Michael Hessling, Gallagher Bassett Services Inc.

Chris Consolo, Marsh L.L.C.

Jay Gates, RMH Franchise Holdings Inc.

Sean M. Carney, Sidley Austin L.L.P.

Courtney Davis, University of Chicago

Prasad Gunturi, Willis Re



John Loftus, Willis Towers Watson P.L.C.

Jill Allison Opell, Michelman & Robinson L.L.P.

Gisel Davila, Tishman Speyer Properties

Caitlin Costello, Marsh

Shane Hogan, Aon Risk Solutions

Grace Ries, FM Global

Manan Patel, The Spofford Group Insurance Brokerage Ltd.

Megan Miller, Beecher Carlson Holdings Inc.

Timothy Crowley, Crystal & Company

Michael Turnbull, American International Group Inc.



Joey Sylvester, Arthur J. Gallagher

Brandon Perry, Victor O. Schinnerer & Co.

Wynne Sharpe, JLT Specialty USA, a unit of Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group P.L.C.

Jeff Howard, Gillis, Ellis & Baker Inc.

Kevin Smith, Willis Towers Watson

Meghan Mullee, Alliant Insurance Services Inc.

Jared Mathis, Blue River Underwriters, a unit of Breckenridge Insurance Group Inc.

Alexandra Lunde, Aon Risk Solutions

Megan McClellan, Marsh

Kimberly Ashmore, Wiley Rein L.L.P.



Michelle Bennett, Cable One Inc.

Eric Brown, Lockton Cos. L.L.C.

Gardner Jones, ABD Insurance & Financial Services Inc.

Joseph Laskowski, Arthur J. Gallagher

Andy Lewis, Alliant

Matt Nicholas, Willis Towers Watson

Michael Parme, Haight Brown & Bonesteel L.L.P.

Sarah Sherman, JLT Specialty USA

Jennifer Smith, Marsh

Amy Vitarelli, Heffernan Insurance Brokers


The awards will be presented at a series of regional awards events in June. For more information on the awards and attending the awards events, please visit