BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe

Independent panel picks Risk Manager of the Year

Independent panel picks Risk Manager of the Year

Nine independent judges were named this year to select the Risk Manager of the Year and Risk Management Honor Roll members.

The 2007 Risk Manager of the Year will be the 30th person so honored. The judges review and score nominees based on information in the candidates' nomination forms (see box, page 34).

The honorees will be announced in the April 30 issue of Business Insurance.

Judges for this year's awards are:

  • William K. Austin, co-founder and principal of Austin & Stanovich Risk Managers L.L.C., a risk management and insurance consulting firm with offices in Massachusetts and Rhode Island. Mr. Austin, a former risk manager for a large international financial services company, represents risk management consultants on the panel.

  • Dennis Bennice, a vp at insurance brokerage Hylant Corp. in Toledo, Ohio. Mr. Bennice, the retired president of Dana Corp.'s Dana Risk Management Services Inc. unit, was a member of the 2006 Risk Management Honor Roll.

  • Ryan Brown, director-insurance and enterprise risk management at Peabody Energy Corp. in St. Louis. Mr. Brown, former director of risk management and fleet operations at Raben Tire Co. in Evansville, Ind., was a member of the 2006 Risk Management Honor Roll.

  • Robert S. Cubbin, president and chief executive officer of Meadowbrook Insurance Group Inc. in Southfield, Mich. Mr. Cubbin represents midsize brokerages on the panel.

  • J. Patrick Gallagher Jr., president and CEO of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co. in Itasca, Ill. Mr. Gallagher represents large brokerages on the panel.

  • Debra Griffith, director of the property division of the Irving, Texas-based Boy Scouts of America. Ms. Griffith was the 2006 Risk Manager of the Year.

  • William Hold, co-founder and president of the National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research in Austin, Texas. The National Alliance conducts research and educational programs relating to risk management and insurance, including the Certified Risk Managers designation program. Mr. Hold, a longtime professor of insurance and risk management, represents educators on the panel.

  • David H. Long, president, commercial markets, at Boston-based Liberty Mutual Group Inc. Mr. Long represents mutual insurance companies on the panel.

  • Kristian P. Moor, executive vp, domestic general insurance, at American International Group Inc. in New York. Mr. Moor represents stock insurance companies on the panel.

    For information and a nomination form for the 2008 competition, please visit or request one from BI Editor Regis Coccia by sending an e-mail to