BI’s Article search uses Boolean search capabilities. If you are not familiar with these principles, here are some quick tips.

To search specifically for more than one word, put the search term in quotation marks. For example, “workers compensation”. This will limit your search to that combination of words.

To search for a combination of terms, use quotations and the & symbol. For example, “hurricane” & “loss”.

Login Register Subscribe



SYDNEY, Australia -- Thirty-nine nations were represented at the 34th annual seminar of the International Insurance Society Inc., held for the first time in Australia.

The seminar attracted 358 delegates to The Regent Hotel in Sydney, Australia, for the July 12-15 event. Three awards were presented, and three people were inducted into the IIS Insurance Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame was created in 1957 to honor individuals, alive or dead, who influenced insurance organizations' ability to serve society.

The Commissioners General Award 1998 went to George R. Trumbull, chief executive officer and managing director of AMP Ltd., Australia's largest life insurer, based in Sydney. Before joining AMP, Mr. Trumbull worked for CIGNA Corp. in the United States for 24 years. He was chairman of the IIS's Board of Governors for the 1998 seminar and headed the Australian organizing committee.

Richard M. Murray, vice chairman of La Prov Corp., a New York subsidiary of Mexico City-based insurer Grupo Nacional Provincial, was awarded the Kenneth Black Jr. Distinguished Service Award.

The John S. Bickley Founder's Award, Gold Medal for Excellence, went to J. Efran Ossa Gomez, an insurance educator in Columbia who died in 1993. He was general manager and CEO of Compania Central de Seguros in Bogota, Colombia, for 35 years. The founder's award goes to an individual, living or dead, and has the same criteria as the Hall of Fame.

Those joining the Hall of Fame were Hans Buhlmann, a former Swiss Re actuary who has advised the Swiss Government on actuarial issues; Canadian Thomas Bassett Macaulay, a former president of Sun Life Assurance Co. Canada, who died in 1942; and Jose Maria del Delas y Miralles, who developed the regulatory framework for the Spanish insurance industry. He died in 1954.

Next year's IIS seminar is scheduled to be held July 11-14 in Berlin at the Hotel Inter-Continental. For more information, contact Linda C. Bock, executive director, IIS, 101 Murray St., New York, N.Y. 10007-2165. 212-815-9261; fax: 212-815-9297; e-mail: